kids encyclopedia robot

The Hub (TV channel) facts for kids

Kids Encyclopedia Facts
The Hub
The Hub logo.png
Launched October 10, 2010
Owned by Discovery Communications
Hasbro, Inc.
(both owning 50%)
Slogan Where Everything Comes Together
Headquarters Silver Spring, Maryland
Sister channel(s) Discovery Channel
TLC
Animal Planet
OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network
Science Channel
Military Channel
Discovery Fit & Health
Investigation Discovery
Planet Green
Availability
Satellite
DirecTV (US) Channel 294
Channel 1294 (VOD)
Dish Network Channel 179
C-Band AMC 11-Channel 610 (4DTV Digital)
SKY México Channel 271
DirecTV (Latin America) Channel 330
Cable
Available on most cable systems Check local listings for details
IPTV
AT&T U-Verse Channel 335 (SD)
Channel 1335 (HD)
Verizon FiOS Channel 259 (SD)
Channel 789 (HD)
Sky Angel Channel 314

The Hub is a Digital cable and satellite television television network in the United States. The Hub replaced Discovery Kids and has a joint venture of both Discovery Communications, Inc. and Hasbro.

Program blocks

There are 4 blocks for the channel:

HubBub

HubBub is a daytime programming block for preschoolers. HubBub usually airs from 9:00 am to 1:00 pm ET (8:00 am–12:00 pm CT). Shows like Animal Mechanicals, Maryoku Yummy, In the Night Garden, Strawberry Shortcake's Berry Bitty Adventures and The WotWots are aired during HubBub.

Family Prime Time

Family Prime Time is a nighttime lineup and is broadcast on Monday to Thursdays from 7:00 pm to 6:00 am ET (6:00 pm to 5:00 am CT), Fridays from 2:00 to 4:00 am ET (1:00 to 3:00 am CT), Saturdays from 1:00 to 4:00 am ET (12:00 to 3:00 am CT) and Sundays from 12:00 to 4:00 am ET (11:00 pm to 3:00 am CT). Shows like Honey, I Shrunk the Kids: The TV Show, Doogie Howser, M.D., Laverne & Shirley, The Wonder Years and Happy Days are aired during Family Prime Time.

HubBoom

HubBoom which is a late night block of action-themed programming and is broadcast Monday through Thursdays from 11:30 pm to 1:00 am ET (10:30 pm to 12:00 am CT). Shows like Batman, The Transformers and G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero are aired during HubBoom.

Saturday Mash Up

Saturday Mash Up is an almost all-day block. Saturday Mash Up has several sub-blocks (Crack Up, Smash Up, Team Up, Family Prime, and Family Movie Night).

  • Crack Up is a sub-block that airs comedy cartoons and airs from 6:00 am Eastern/5:00 am Central to 10:00 am Eastern/9:00 am Central.
  • Smash Up is a sub-block that airs action shows and airs from 10:00 am Eastern/9:00 am Central to 2:00 pm Eastern/1:00 pm Central.
  • Team Up is a sub-block that airs two back-to-back episodes of Family Game Night and airs from 3:00 pm Eastern/2:00 pm Central to 5:00 pm Eastern/4:00 pm Central.
  • Family Prime is a sub-block that airs The Hub's best shows and airs from 7:00 pm Eastern/6:00 pm Central to 9:00 pm Eastern/8:00 pm Central.
  • Family Movie Night is a sub-block that airs family movies and it airs from 9:00 pm Eastern/8:00 pm Central to 11:00 pm Eastern/10:00 pm Central.

Images for kids

kids search engine
The Hub (TV channel) Facts for Kids. Kiddle Encyclopedia.